NEW Honda Civic Type R review: the best hot hatch in HISTORY

114725
642
2138
30.11.2022
Auto Express

Auto Express

250641687
531000
1949
21.11.2006
GB
Описание видео:

Steve Sutcliffe drives the 2022 FL5 Honda Civic Type R on road and track. Read more at Auto Express: New 2022 FL5 Honda Civic Type R specs and details: 🤍bit.ly/3FlFk0x New 2022 FL5 Honda Civic Type R review: 🤍bit.ly/3Fbu7iJ SUBSCRIBE for more new car reviews and Steve Sutcliffe track tests: 🤍aex.ae/2gY9ABE Despite the rabid anticipation surrounding the new Honda Civic Type R, and the eye-watering £46,995 price tag Honda has just attached to it, the car itself contains surprisingly few all-new components beside the car it replaces. Yes, it has a new bodyshell that’s 15 per cent stiffer than before (which is a great starting point) but its engine and gearbox are essentially the same as before, as are its steering, brakes and suspension. And yet the overall result is a hot hatchback that once again rewrites the rules when it comes to front-wheel drive dynamics. It is, quite simply, the best hot hatchback there has ever been. In places, by quite some margin. How? Well what Honda has done with the Type R this time is clever, and quite unusual. Rather than spend time and money developing a range of brand-new components, Honda’s engineers have instead evolved what they already knew worked rather well on the existing Type R, fine tuning them to a level that would never have been possible had they started from scratch. On the one hand, you could argue that the budget wouldn’t have allowed them to develop an all-new powertrain in the first place, so they had no option but to work on what they already had. But on the other hand, few manufacturers would have the confidence to allow its engineers to spend four years essentially honing a car that was already in a class of one, but that’s essentially what Honda has done here. Steve Sutcliffe tests the newcomer on road and track in this first drive review. Would you like to receive the latest car news, reviews, features, pictures and videos in your e-mail inbox three times a week? The Auto Express e-mail newsletter delivers exactly that, it's free and it takes seconds to sign up: 🤍aex.ae/2ml5DOf More Auto Express videos: Car reviews playlist: 🤍aex.ae/2gY4ViX Track battle playlist: 🤍aex.ae/2U8yvdf Car news playlist: 🤍aex.ae/3vyKA8G Follow us Twitter: 🤍twitter.com/AutoExpress Facebook: 🤍🤍facebook.com/AutoExpress Instagram: 🤍🤍instagram.com/autoexpressmagazine

Кадры из видео
NEW Honda Civic Type R review: the best hot hatch in HISTORY
NEW Honda Civic Type R review: the best hot hatch in HISTORY
NEW Honda Civic Type R review: the best hot hatch in HISTORY
NEW Honda Civic Type R review: the best hot hatch in HISTORY
Тэги из видео
Комментарии пользователей:
Wayne Johnson
2023-01-23 00:54:43

Styling is subjective, but to me it's not a very good looking design. It's matured a little from the previous design, but still retains too many boy-racer elements.

Relentless Pursuit
2023-01-22 00:55:14

Not even in the top 10 of all time greatest hot hatches. Typical paid for review!

hassy g
2023-01-21 09:44:09

carwow did drag test thing comes last compared to european hot hatches

Marvin Ambeau Jr
2023-01-15 13:46:20

But I love this color plus that rim look's good.

Scott Osborne
2023-01-07 22:59:24

47k is ridiculous you could pick up a good Audi s3 for half that and it would probably be quicker everywhere.

roger bourne
2023-01-06 10:23:21

Steve's in LOVE!

Marco Lunardi
2023-01-06 01:11:46

I really don’t understand why the goodness of a car like this has always to be tested only in on dry and smooth-like-pool-table roads.
Driving in real life is made of facing wet roads, slippery roads, b-roads, most of the time.
I mean, this is really a fantastic car and one of the best ever made.
But I drove the previous Type R, and like all the FWD hot hatches, it loses too much of its greatness once the road is even slightly worse than dry and flawless.
Battling with spinning front tires, understeer, and track-focused suspensions is not the best of fun.
This is why my previous car was a Focus RS MK3 (AWD) and my current one is a GR Yaris (AWD again, of course).
I don’t miss FWD cars like the Type R for a second of my driving.
Maybe before granting a car with a huge praise like the one mentioned in the title of this video, let’s put into the equation how much fun and performance a car can give in ordinary life… I easily guess that this unique award won’t definitely go to a FWD car.
After spending this much money for a car, we badly need full-time fun, not just in rare and artificially neat conditions.

Craig Pavia
2022-12-29 14:33:02

Hothatch @ 181inches (450+cm) is NOT a hothatch; it's a sedan with a more useful trunk(boot)

OutofTheFox ootF
2022-12-22 07:32:06

I ordered mine for 74k AUD with some options and delivery won't be till 2024 / June however I truly think this will be one of the last best cars Honda will ever make. Everything seems to be Electric or hybrid and I think that is where Honda will lose some of its soul which clearly they've put a lot of in this car so really makes it worth the money. I also wanted to purchase it as an investment for the future and I can think of much worse cars to buy.

Phil Cliffe
2022-12-21 00:31:07

The best hot hatch? ..... Think I'd save that for the GR Yaris with its homologation pedigree.

Phil Cliffe
2022-12-21 00:19:29

You will have needed to have summited mount stupid to spend £47k on a car with 4hp more than the previous model.

Jignesh Panchal
2022-12-20 21:39:15

I so badly want this but the price is too much

Stephen Boulton
2022-12-20 21:15:03

Omg what have honda done to The styling its awefull.
Bland and dull.
You buy a type r becus it looks like nothing else on the road this looks like any other eurobox.
Whoever designed this and signed it off needs the sack.
A type r drives mega thats a given but you want a car to excite you in the looks too.
This doesnt.

Dax151tube
2022-12-20 09:56:00

I did put a holding deposit down...until they published the price....so I bought an AMG C63 instead....no regrets

Pablo H
2022-12-20 09:13:13

£47k! I'll stick with my fk2

Steven McGeorge
2022-12-18 22:39:05

Most of these reviews are blatantly paid for by Honda. How can say a FWD car is better than a GR Yaris or Corolla for example, when it can't launch, so it's 0-60 time is poor, it's crap in the wet, and it's useless in the snow? It's literally good on track, in the dry and that's about it.

fooyc188
2022-12-16 13:01:50

it seem like Honda still don't hv or made that reverse gear lock out gate?

Sundar Amirtanandha
2022-12-15 20:38:35

Steve you should do more test vids... simply awesome.
Its fantastic that Honda have kept to the pure DNA of a hot hatch, Front Wheel Drive and Manual Gearbox.
Better start saving!

roc
2022-12-14 19:15:23

The greatest hatch of all time is and will be Ford Focus Mk2

Что ищут прямо сейчас
gon freecss rimworld gameplay cuplikan gol irrene ghea Wulan asih indigo удалю Proxmox Docker VM Old logging road bidhan roy freezing jebikalam vaanga 优酷 membedakan pleci alsace lorraine ASUS Zenfone liga machinery mega coub 禁断ボーイズ full hd green screen ラブストーリー
Похожие видео
15.11.2022
2023 Honda Civic Type R vs The Competition // Drag Race, Lap Times & Review

2023 Honda Civic Type R vs The Competition // Drag Race, Lap Times & Review

06.12.2022
2023 Honda Civic Type-R: Real World Test On Road And Track | Top Gear

2023 Honda Civic Type-R: Real World Test On Road And Track | Top Gear

22.12.2022
اقوى هوندا سيفيك 💪💪 Honda Civic Type R 2023

اقوى هوندا سيفيك 💪💪 Honda Civic Type R 2023

21.10.2022
【シビックタイプR】土屋圭市 群サイ全開走行! カーボンテールゲートスポイラー装着 ペダル&メーターカメラあり!

【シビックタイプR】土屋圭市 群サイ全開走行! カーボンテールゲートスポイラー装着 ペダル&メーターカメラあり!

30.01.2023
The New King of the Hatchbacks: The 2023 Honda Civic Type R

The New King of the Hatchbacks: The 2023 Honda Civic Type R

14.01.2023
Supercar vs Hot Hatch - What's FASTER In The REAL World? 4K

Supercar vs Hot Hatch - What's FASTER In The REAL World? 4K

01.12.2022
Chris Harris On... The Death of The Hot Hatch? | Top Gear

Chris Harris On... The Death of The Hot Hatch? | Top Gear

22.12.2022
2023 Honda Civic hybrid (inc. 0-100 & autonomy test) review: The first hot-hatch hybrid?

2023 Honda Civic hybrid (inc. 0-100 & autonomy test) review: The first hot-hatch hybrid?

29.11.2022
TopGear.com Awards 2022: The Greatest Cars Of The Year Crowned

TopGear.com Awards 2022: The Greatest Cars Of The Year Crowned

08.12.2022
VW Golf v Ford Focus v Honda Civic v Astra review

VW Golf v Ford Focus v Honda Civic v Astra review

18.01.2019
Chris Harris races the Honda Civic Type R vs Lexus LC500 | Top Gear: Series 25 | BBC

Chris Harris races the Honda Civic Type R vs Lexus LC500 | Top Gear: Series 25 | BBC

19.01.2023
1st Drive Honda Civic Type R - Best Hot hatch on sale today! New 2023 FL5 | 4K

1st Drive Honda Civic Type R - Best Hot hatch on sale today! New 2023 FL5 | 4K

03.01.2023
2023 Honda Civic Type R vs Toyota GR Corolla // DRAG & ROLL RACE

2023 Honda Civic Type R vs Toyota GR Corolla // DRAG & ROLL RACE

17.01.2023
The Honda Jazz is BRILLIANT at one thing: review

The Honda Jazz is BRILLIANT at one thing: review

15.07.2022
The All-New 2023 Honda Civic Type R is the most powerful Type R ever

The All-New 2023 Honda Civic Type R is the most powerful Type R ever

25.08.2017
Chris Harris Drives The 2017 Honda Civic Type R | Top Gear

Chris Harris Drives The 2017 Honda Civic Type R | Top Gear

09.01.2023
STICK SHIFT SHOWDOWN: 2023 Supra Manual vs 2023 Civic Type R

STICK SHIFT SHOWDOWN: 2023 Supra Manual vs 2023 Civic Type R